Morning’s Should Be a Blast….

MR 1

I’m such a believer that a good morning routine can completely change your life, in the same way a bad morning makes the whole day sh*t!

Have you ever woken up and thought “today is going to be awesome” and somehow come night fall the day really was awesome? Or (in reverse) ever woken up feeling rubbish and thinking the day ahead is going to be a disaster and then it was?

Possibly it sounds a little airy-fairy but your thoughts really can change your life and certainly your mood – so what if we made every morning a ritual that had you leaving the house, heading to work or making brekkie for the kids feel that much better?

Well that’s exactly what we’re going to do with my Morning’s Should Be a Blast AM Ritual…..

DITCH THE SNOOZE BUTTON

MR 3

If you’re not a morning person then this will probably get us off on the wrong foot, but the snooze button is just a disaster waiting to happen (at least it is in my book). Don’t get me wrong, I’d love an extra 5 minutes in bed of a morning but by the time I’ve hit that wretched snooze a couple of times I’m running late, irritable and even more tired than if I’d just gotten straight up! Plus which, every successful entrepreneur I’ve ever heard of wakes at the crack of dawn and wouldn’t dream of snoozing in past the first alarm.. so there’s got to be something in it.

HYDRATE AND DETOXIFY

MR 4

I’ve gone through many a phase of drinking lemon infused water as soon as I’ve risen from my slumber, but I’m all too aware that it makes some people feel really nauseous (not exactly what you want first thing). Really the only thing that matters is that you get fluids in – even a glass of plain water helps kick-start your digestion, wake you up and rehydrate you after a long night.

BRUSH YOURSELF

MR 6

Dry brushing has to be one of the best rituals I ever took up and I’ve been doing it fairly religiously since I was 19. It’s an amazing way to stimulate blood flow and circulation, minimise cellulite, slough away dead skin and help with toxin drainage. It usually takes me about 3 minutes to cover my whole body (and my face) and you want to use round circular motions, starting at the feet.

SCRAPE YOUR TONGUE

MR 7

I didn’t start tongue scraping until this year, mostly because I always thought using the toothbrush was enough – boy was I wrong. The first couple of times is really gross and you definitely accumulate a lot of bacteria and toxins in your tongue especially while sleeping. This practice is amazing for freshening your breath, detoxing, aiding with digestion and keeping your liver healthy. Best to do this first thing before you’ve eaten and keep the strokes long and slow.

OIL PULLING

MR 9

 

I absolutely love oil pulling and it’s such a great way to keep your teeth healthy. Plaque and tartar (the nasties that build up in your mouth) are actually fat soluble not water soluble, so oil pulling helps to break down that bacteria much more efficiently that brushing alone. In fact, it’s so good here at The Model Handmade we put coconut oil in our toothpaste. The best oils to use are coconut or sesame and you want to swish for anywhere between 5-20 minutes before spitting out.

MEDITATE

MR 8

Studies have shown that even just 5 minutes of meditation can completely transform a person – lower stress, more enjoyment, improved blood pressure, better resting heart rate and of course good breath control. In yoga we call the breath PRANA and it’s the source of all life; meditation doesn’t have to be just about emptying your mind of all things but it is always about breathing. I personally practice 20minutes twice a day and I do a mediation called TM (transcendental meditation) but you can practice as short or as long as you like and use any technique that suits.

GET YOUR SWEAT ON

MR 10

By now it’s probably no secret that my favourite form of exercise is yoga; I’m a big fan of multi-tasking so the mind/body complete workout ticks all my boxes. I’ve been practicing now for 9 years and I start my day (everyday) with 45 minutes of sun salutes and stretches. Now if you’re not quite as keen as me then the idea of doing yoga first thing might make you sick and that’s totally fine – my mum in fact absolutely loathes yoga and we still cool. The main thing is getting your body moving – it clears your head, increases endorphins, soothes depression and anxiety and of course keeps your body healthy. I love to cycle to work, box/swim/run some days and I still enjoy taking a dance class every so often – whatever works for you is fine. Aim for a minimum of 15 minutes in the morning and you’ll be set up for a great day.

BREAK THE FAST

MR 11

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve been told breakfast is the most important meal of the day and if I’m totally honest, this is the thing I’m worst at! I’m never hungry (even after a 20km cycle) and I’m not massive on the options available either but I do force something into me every morning – usually a smoothie. Every great business person (and model) I know eats breakfast and what you choose as your first meal is even more important than when you eat it. A good, healthy breakfast can really set you up for a whole day and a good balance of carbohydrates, proteins and fats is definitely the way to go.

Morning routines can really be a great addition to your day and everyone has different things that work for them. I’d love to hear about your morning rituals and what you can’t live without first thing.

Lots of Love
Alex Brennan & The Model Handmade

If you make one of our recipes, don’t forget to tag us #themodelhandmade or #TMHhacks

 

Leave a Reply

