Summer Sun Body Oil……………. #TMHhacks

Sun Oil 2

There’s something truly magical about summer; maybe because the warmth takes me back to my homeland, maybe it’s the slimming effects of a healthy glow, the mood boosting properties of sunshine, or perhaps that all my best childhood memories include beach cricket, summer BBQ’s and afternoons in the pool with my sister.

Talk to any Londoner and they’ll tell you that the (all of) 2.5 days of summer each year takes their breath away – no wonder so many move to warmer climates! In fact, whenever people here I’ve move from glorious Sydney there first question is “WHY???”

Don’t get me wrong, being in London has been such an amazing experience for me and what I’ve gained here (my fiancé, my step-daughter, heck even my sisters moved over) makes me stay. BUT, I sure do miss the weather!

Getting a tan on the other hand, is an absolute pain in the butt! Back home, just before I moved here, I’d spent a good 6 months training my body to go brown instead of lobster pink – lying half naked in my mum’s backyard for 15 mins each side. I’m sure that sounds hugely odd but it definitely worked and when I hopped on the plane to move my life to the wettest, coldest place on Earth I was sporting some serious summer glow.

As I’m sure you can guess, the lack of sunshine saw me back to porcelain within a couple of months and since the sunshine here is so infrequent, attempting to get a tan is about as worthwhile as looking for a needle in a haystack – NADA!

Sun Oil 3
Fortunately, my DIY skills come to the rescue and now I can be bronzed and glowing all year – sans skin cancer, sans chemicals.

This is definitely one of my favourite recipes and not only does it give you a glow, but it’s super nourishing and moisturising for the skin.

CINNAMON SPICE SUMMER BODY OIL

Sun Oil 4

ingredients
2 TBS loose leaf black tea
1 tsp cocoa powder/bronze eyeshadow (natural of course)
200ml sunflower oil
3 drops vanilla Essential Oil

METHOD
In a small saucepan, heat the oil and the loose leaf tea together to infuse (approx. 30mins on a low heat). Cap and leave to rest in a cool, dark place for 7 days.

Post infusion, strain the oil to remove the tea leaves and add the cocoa powder/bronze eyeshadow and vanilla Essential Oil. Stir well to combine and transfer to a container of your choice.

TO USE: lather your body in the bronzing oil and enjoy your healthy glow.
Lots of Love
Alex Brennan & The Model Handmade

If you make one of our recipes, don’t forget to tag us #themodelhandmade or #TMHhacks

Leave a Reply

