Eye Spy and Eye Mask…………….. #TMHhacks

Eye Mask 1

I have to confess I have a real obsession with eye masks these days. Ever since my family increased to include a 5 year old, I’m perpetually tired and my eyes are so puffy I look permanently bee-stung. But hey, it’s all worth it right??

I love our mornings at home; up before the sun for yoga and meditation and then a little morning ritual I share with the little one. Tongue scraping, dry brushing, oil massage and repeating our affirmations with big smiles and lots of giggles. Unfortunately all this takes place before 7am and while I love our bonding time while Daddy indulges in his beauty zzz’s I’m not so in love with the lack of sleep half closed eyes I wear all day long.

Now in my 28th year I’ve tried soooooo many eye creams and masks and brightening facial oils that I could probably start my own apothecary store sans The Model Handmade, in fact we even make our own eye cream and eye gel for tough mornings, but I have to admit nothing beats a DIY to make your morning ritual even more special.

THE TEASPOON TRICK

IMG_12851.jpg

This has to be the easiest beauty hack anyone ever shared with me, not just because it takes zero time to prep but also because you can do it in hotels and while on holiday (though the room service staff might think you’re a looney).

Leave two teaspoons in the fridge over night (or freezer for 5-15 minutes) then take out and place over your eyes for 5 minutes. Bye Bye puffy eyes!

PARSLEY PUFFY-EYE PERFECTOR

diy-parsley-for-dark-circles-1

Parsley is loaded with chlorophyll which is an amazing source of vitamin K. Vitamin K decreases blood flow so it helps remove the black baggies that we often find after a late night (though they’re also genetic). Bonus vitamins include vitamin C which de-puffs YAY!

METHOD

Chop a handful of parsley and muddle in a mortar and pestle. Add enough warm water to cover then muddle again.

Dip cotton pads into the mixture and place over the eyes for 10 mins before removing and rinsing.

ANTI-WRINKLE MORNING BREW

cofee-eye-mask-1

Coffee has to be one of the best beauty correctors of all-time (like coconut, aloe vera, heck there sure are a lot)!

I make a lot of coffee scrubs during summer to ensure my skin is extra tight pre-beach but it’s also amazing on fine lines and wrinkles. In fact, we at The Model Handmade make a coffee-infused eye cream as part of our Age with Grace Collection.

My fiancé is somewhat of a coffee connoisseur which means there’s always left over coffee grounds going to waste (not ideal when you’re up to your 3rd cup of the day), so now I use them to tighten up the skin around my eyes when they’re looking a bit old-ladyesque.

METHOD

Mix together 1 egg white and 2 tsp of coffee grounds (totally fine if they’ve already been used to make drinkable coffee). Massage delicately into the skin around the eyes and leave for 15 minutes.

Rinse and follow up with a good moisturiser.

If you’ve got any mask ideas that you love, please comment your recipes below and I’ll be pleased to give them a try.

Lots of Love
Alex Brennan & The Model Handmade

If you make one of our recipes, don’t forget to tag us #themodelhandmade or #TMHhacks

Leave a Reply

