Munchkin Passionfruit Pavs………. #TMHhacks

img_8721

I honestly can’t believe we are already in a brand new year; not to mention most of the way through the first month! It seems the older I get the faster the time goes though this year I’m grateful for the speed.

In September my fiance and I are getting hitched which is so exciting in itself, but it’ll also be the first time in over a year and a half since I’ve seen my family, not to mention the first time in 10 years that my mum, dad and sister will be in the same room – ah the wonders of divorce.

This might seem like a serious ramble but it actually has everything to do with today’s blog; you see, I find this time of year the most hard – not christmas or birthdays or Easter. Next week, on the 25th of January will be Australia Day which has got to be my favourite (and most nostalgic) holiday. With London (my new homeland) in the midst of arctic chills, I miss the beauty of my mother country: the warm weather, sandy beaches, cool beers and of course, the Pavlova’s.

I’m not really much for sweets but a pavlova isn’t just a pudding; it’s a national event! Where tables are set under the sunshine, families chilling and chin-wagging and the crisp white plates with their glossy and fruity treats glistening in the light. We’ve even been known to have this delight at the end of Christmas dinner (no stodgy dried fruit puddings for us).

In honour of my favourite holiday (and to quell some of my homesickness) I’ve got TWO Aussie inspired recipes to get you in the Aussie spirit. Today it’s my Munchkin Pavs and on my youtube channel I’ve got a recipe for Passionfruit Sunscreen Lotion Bars.

YUMMMMMMMM!

MUNCHKIN PASSIONFRUIT PAVS

img_8679

ingredients
2 egg whites
1/2 cup caster sugar
1/2 tsp white vinegar
2 tsp cornflour
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

TO SERVE
1 cup whipping cream
4 passionfruits
Icing Sugar for dusting

img_8678

METHOD

Preheat the oven to 200C and line a baking tray with parchment paper.

In a mixing bowl, beat the egg whites with a whisk or hand blender until stiff peaks have formed (approx. 5 minutes). Add the caster sugar, 1 TBS at a time and continue whisking until the mixture is thick and glossy (approx. 10 minutes). Fold in the cornflour, vinegar and vanilla gently until smooth and combined.

Place a large cookie ring on the baking/parchment sheet and spoon the mixture into the centre until approx 2.5cm high. Remove the ring and repeat the above until there are 4 round pavlovas.

  
Turn the oven down to 125C and bake the pavlovas for 60-75 minutes until the top is lightly browned and the outer shell stiff. Once cooked, remove from the oven and transfer to a rack to cool for 10 minutes.

To Serve: whisk the cream until thick and spoon approx 1 TBS of cream on top of each pavlova until all the cream is used. Top each with the pulp of one full passionfruit and dust with a little icing sugar.

img_8723

Hope you enjoy my munchkin passionfruit pavs and don’t forget to check out my youtube video here:

Happy Australia Day!!!

Lots of Love
Alex Brennan & The Model Handmade

If you make one of our recipes, don’t forget to tag us #themodelhandmade or #TMHhacks

Leave a Reply

